LeeAnne K-G: Top 5 Life lessons Learned So Far

I recently asked LeeAnne Ketchen-Gullett, ATC, MS about her “Top 5 Life Lessons So Far” and she was generous to respond with this fantastic guest blog. It is a worthwhile read that I will definitely re-visit periodically. In case you haven’t already met LeeAnne, you can find her on twitter @LKetchen14ATC (not only is she a Certified Athletic Trainer, but she’s also a Full-time Volunteer!). Enjoy the read and I hope you get as much out of it as I do.


There is Value to Each Individual You Meet

Meeting new people is one of my favorite things whether it is on a plane, conference, sports event,  work related or standing in a line. I take it as an opportunity to understand people and myself. I am not saying I “like” or have great experiences with every person I meet but I do take something away from each individual and interaction and carry it with me. During good or bad interaction I learn how to listen, engage in intellectual conversation, know when not to speak, and use of body language.  I’ll admit, often I have learned communicating the hard way but its valuable the next time a similar situation presents itself. I have met amazing people in unique circumstances and they have made an impact on me forever and may or may not even realize it. The world is big and full of incredible people. I would like to meet as many people as possible for the experience and to take a little bit of them with me. I find great importance to live in the moment and take the opportunity for person interaction because everyone has their own story and we can all learn from one another. That being said- even the smallest interactions can play a role, never underestimate the impact you can have on someone else’s life.

The world owes you nothing

Just because bad things happen doesn’t mean something good will happen to make up for it. Just because you work your tail off may not mean you get the job you want or put you necessarily where you want to be. I have learned to not “expect” much in return for what I do or accomplish. It is about changing your mindset and attitude. I work and am there for people because I love to do it and the reward is it makes me feel good. It is about being a good person and waking up with a positive attitude. I find that if I can do that then it will trump many things. It is important to focus on what we do have control over and the goals we set for our self. It is not okay to expect rewards for all things we do because we feel that we “deserve” it. It doesn’t always workout that way and we must carry on, work hard, and move forward. In life nothing is ever guaranteed, so everyday create your own luck and opportunity.

You cant wait for the perfect opportunity- Take a chance and step out of your comfort zone

Looking back I feel like I missed out on some opportunities because I was waiting for the perfect “moment” or “timing” where everything would fall together nicely and work out perfectly. What I’ve learned: rarely does this happen. I discovered that I wasn’t good at having a plan. I just ruined plans. However, I was better at planning and found it to be more efficient in accomplishments. If you take a chance and go with a positive attitude, it WILL work out and you will find success. I used to be scared that something bad would happen and it would mean a big set back in my life. I was wrong. It was in the moments where I didn’t have a plan, that potential opportunities opened up, when I dove in fully. I had no idea how things were going to turn out or where it was going to lead me, but it is in those moments I learned the most. Being in uncomfortable situations uncovered feelings I didn’t know I had and didn’t know I could handle. It’s about discovering parts of yourself you didn’t know existed and using them for future situations. This has happened to me on more than one occasion and I couldn’t be more grateful for chances that I have taken on a whim. It has lead me down a strong path of meeting amazing people and being put in tough situations that has built me as a person and professional.

Show that you care, be present

I believe that we are all connected somehow and this kind of goes hand in hand with my lesson number one.  I have found that building trust, being passionate, being considerate and caring can be the most rewarding thing one can do.  I didn’t understand this until I started getting e-mails and cards from people expressing gratitude about how important it was to them that I gave them time, listened to them, and show that I care. I truly value each person I work and interact with. It has to do with being a good person, doing the right thing, and being there for someone because you want to be genuine, to be their listening ear, and show concern. When I get feedback (cards and emails), I realize how much their feedback affects me, and I then understand the impact I may have on others. That is what feels amazing.  I think it is so important to not only show that your care, but when given the opportunity, let others know that you appreciate them. Even if it is as simple as a solid “thank you”, I know in my industry it can go a long way.

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” ― Maya Angelou

Intuition and instinct can go a long way.

I think it is important to be in tune with our instinctive nature and follow the path it leads us down. Intuition and instinct isn’t measurable, it’s a feeling and belief based around experiences and facts that have been in our life. These experiences turn into our ability to problem solve and respond to situations for success. I suppose I can take the top four life lessons already mentioned and say intuition and instinct play a huge role in all of them. I would like to think growing up I have had a solid foundation built around strong morals and beliefs. As I get older and go through new experiences and challenges, I find self-talk and reflection to be one of the most beneficial parts to my day. Trusting my intuitive nature and making quick decisions has led me down an amazing journey.

Accept no ones definition of yourself because no one knows you better than you do. Society, parents, teachers may have an image about how you need to be and how to live your life in order to be successful. Fact of the matter is that everyone reacts and responds to situations differently. Life is here for us to create and define our self as a person, how we want to be and what path we choose. It is important to spend life on your own terms and what you believe in.  This is created by the choices we make and not the choices people think we should make. Be you, listen to yourself, and create yourself based on your intuition and instinct. I look forward to each morning, excited to create new opportunity and another day to build a better version of myself.

Connect with LeeAnne Ketchen-Gullett, ATC, MS on Twitter.

And find me @Cinema_Air

One thought on “LeeAnne K-G: Top 5 Life lessons Learned So Far

Leave a Reply

